South-Africa day 6 - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Lieke Driessen - WaarBenJij.nu South-Africa day 6 - Reisverslag uit Kaapstad, Zuid-Afrika van Lieke Driessen - WaarBenJij.nu

South-Africa day 6

Door: Lieke Driessen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lieke

14 Februari 2018 | Zuid-Afrika, Kaapstad

Today we went to 2 townships, personally saw this as an upset because the Emil Weder school had already made a quite big impression on me.
At 07:30h, the cars were ready for departure, quite early but comparing to the school days we could sleep a little bit longer! Along the way we have seen many things, large houses, small houses mainly a lot of poverty, I found this quite fiercely and we were not even in the townships yet. Along the way I also got a heart attack, no okay not a real one, but I was shocked. It was at one traffic point, there was a car from the right that miss Kienhuis (Gisela) hadn’t seen, so we suddenly stopped. Anouk vS was sleeping on my legs and Maaike B lay down on Anouk, do you understand it?;). When the car came to a standstill I grabbed Anouk, so she fell to the ground, but otherwise she would be somewhere around the window and we would have an accident. It was scary. Then we had to drive for about half an hour to the first township. Here was Patrick waiting, he was our guide, he would give us a tour through the township. When I was in the township I was nearly crying, I put on sunglasses, so no one saw it. But there were a few who know me longer then today and knew that there was something. I don’t know why I had the need to cry, but I found it fiercely. I just don’t know how to explain, I am used to the way we live in the Netherlands and if you see how other people in the world live, it is a big difference. I know that the people here in South Africa are used to their way of live, they don’t know better. But when I was in the townships it had made quite an impact on me. I digress, in the township, Patrick told us how it is to live here, how people go to school, how they get their food, how they get their money, he told us everything of how your life would be in the township. I found his stories impressive, he told fiercely things with a big smile, that touched my emotion deeply. On the way to the school in the township we met children I started talking to them and they wanted to take a picture with us, I lifted a child and she was very light, we gave the children some food and they divided it immediately with the 5 of them, this would never happen in the Netherlands. There was also a woman along with self-made animal figures to sell them to us, many have bought an animal figure, but I want something original, that nobody has, afterwards I have no regrets that I have not bought it! Furthermore, we have been to the school where children can play safely, where they could empty their heads, it is still nice to see that children in some way don’t have to deal with the bad environment around them, that they have a place have as I have at handball or with friends. I felt quite pampered, with everything I nag, complaining, I have nothing to complain about. I can go to school, I can play sports, I can wear what I want, I have a good house, I have family/friends and I have freedom, so I have everything you could wish for.
Then it was time to go, to say goodbye to Patrick and to go to the largest township of Cape Town and almost the largest from Southern Africa, Khayelitsha. On the way we stopped at a gas station to get some drinks and some food, everything is so cheap, I like it! At one-point miss Kienhuis (Gisela) told us that on the right side it started, the townships, believe me it was miles, miles, and even more miles it was not normal. We drove through the townships to go to the safe hub, the schools were just finished, so there were children on the street who were all waving at us, that you can make someone happy with a smile believe me it's a pleasant that you are able to make someone’s day special, to participate on a perfect day for someone else.
When we arrived at the safe hub, we were very openly received, we were immediately members of the big family, namely the Amanda family. Then we got a small presentation about what the safe hub exactly does for the children. We also played football against the supervisors of safe hub, I formed a team with Teun (toonie) and Jasmin (jassie). Our team name was NYPD, and I was our team captain. It was so nice, it wasn’t about that you had to win, it was about the fun that we had together. What was very intense, that the safe hub lays in the middle of the township, around the field you could see how the people lived. Outside the safe hub it looked sad / terrible, but on the field there was nothing, it was like there were two different worlds. We also danced in a big circle in the middle of the flied, we had so much fun, I'm sure that I will never forget this. 'I love you, you love me, this is how it should be, I love you, you love me, this is the way it should be, we gonna dance together, dance together, this is the way it should be, we gonna dance together, dance together, this is the way it should be'. This was one of the multiple songs we sang, in the big circle. I keep saying it, but it gave me a lot of different emotions, positivity (through the children), impressively (the people's houses).

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lieke

Actief sinds 20 Aug. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 77
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6276

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Februari 2018 - 24 Februari 2018

My journey to South-Africa

22 Juli 2017 - 09 Augustus 2017

Gardameer, Italy

Landen bezocht: