South-Africa day 4 - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Lieke Driessen - WaarBenJij.nu South-Africa day 4 - Reisverslag uit Genadendal, Zuid-Afrika van Lieke Driessen - WaarBenJij.nu

South-Africa day 4

Door: Lieke Driessen

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lieke

12 Februari 2018 | Zuid-Afrika, Genadendal

Today we went to the Emil Weder School for the first time. We had to wake up very early in the morning at 05:45h because at 07:00h we had to go the school. When we had to wait at the schoolyard, there were a lot of students staring at us, quite logical but still very uncomfortable for us the Dutchies (that’s how they called us). And suddenly my buddy Devenia was standing in front of me and she said: 'OMG, are you lieke, you are so pretty!' then I thought so okay what we are going to say back, in the beginning it was a little bit akward because you don’t know each other. Furthermore, Devenia is very caring and does everything to make me feel like home. Then the bell rang, everyone goes and stand in rows, I did not know what to do, but there was Devenia, the saving angel. Then the bell rang again, the lines went to a huge hall where a man was ready to give a speech. During the speech there was a lot of singing and there was a very positive atmosphere in the whole room despite it was soooo early in the morning. Then mister Rasing (Frans) went on the stage to give a speech and yes there was again an akward moment because he wanted all ‘the Dutchies’ to stand up, so we were standing there in the middle of the hall.
Every lesson I had with Janne and Maaike H, so I felt comfortable, because I never was alone. The lessons are very different. They do not really do that much in a lesson compared to us, except for talking. In some lessons the teacher does not even show up. Devenias class consists of a lot of boys so as Dutch girl is uncomfortable, they asked me 7 times whether I have a boyfriend and 8 times if I need a boyfriend, I can say that they are busy with those things. When the school day was over we went to the water gorge, about 5 km away. First, we had to walk for about fifteen minutes until we could not continue, because there was too much water. We could choose if we wanted to swim with bikini and slippers, but the water was terribly cold. I came no further than my knees. So, I made some pictures with Lianne, Zoë, and Stella, this was fun! But then .... Pam..bam..pam...... A teacher had fallen, but who was the question. Mister Rasing (Frans). He had slipped down and fallen backwards. So, his collarbone was broken and Thursday he must go back for a control. Later in the evening we had a fish braai with the buddies, was cosy but very tiring because the buddies were so present and loudly, but we survived. :-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lieke

Actief sinds 20 Aug. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 68
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6314

Voorgaande reizen:

09 Februari 2018 - 24 Februari 2018

My journey to South-Africa

22 Juli 2017 - 09 Augustus 2017

Gardameer, Italy

Landen bezocht: